Dadasaheb Phalke

Recently, I received my copy of a book I’d illustrated for Pratham books. It’s a pictorial biography of Dadasaheb Phalke.

I’m proud of this for two reasons. Firstly, I’m glad it’s Pratham because I’m one with their mission of ‘a book in every child’s hands’. Secondly, I’m happy that someone considered writing about Dadasaheb Phalke, so that children know about the man who set the ball, nah, film-reel rolling in India.

These are some of the inner pages of the book which is aimed at level 4 readers, meaning children who have achieved a certain fluency in reading and writing.

My favourite piece from this book is the scene from Raja Harischandra. A point to note is that the saree clad women look like men because that’s what they were. No women acted in this movie.

Something to say?

